Rupert Shrive Illustration

I have very recently begun a fashion illustration project at University, and as such I’m stumbling upon a TONNE of beautiful and inspiring imagery on a daily basis. It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything so I plan on sharing all of my artistic finds, along with some of my own work!

The artist I’m sharing today is Rupert Shrive. Shrive’s work in my opinion; can be classified as sculptural portraiture. Shrive claims “My interest in art began by copying the painters of the Renaissance found in a book my mother gave me”. Shrive explains that his work are reproductions of iconic works, realised using a variety of media such as pencil, acrylic, varnish, collage and textiles. The subjects of Shrive’s work are often depicted upon brown paper, which is damaged and torn – resulting in a subtly dark and distorted aesthetic.

I think Shrive’s work is beautiful and it has definitely opened my eyes to how quality/manipulation of paper could be used to achieve more textural, visually dynamic results.

I hope you enjoyed this post!

 

Leave a Reply

